News Flash

Press Releases

Posted on: June 27, 2023

KDHE Awards 17 Chronic Disease Risk Reduction Community Grantees

For Immediate Release Graphic

The Kansas Department of Health and Environment’s (KDHE) Community Health Promotion program is pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s Chronic Disease Risk Reduction (CDRR) Community Grant. In total, the SFY 2024 CDRR program covers: 17 grantees, 29 counties and 1,898,414 Kansans (64.6% of the Kansas population). 

The CDRR Community Grant Program provides funding, training and technical assistance to communities to address chronic disease risk reduction through evidence-based strategies that impact tobacco use, physical activity and nutrition. Strategies include: reducing secondhand smoke exposure, preventing youth from using tobacco, promoting tobacco treatment and the Kansas Tobacco Quitline, increasing physical activity and improving community nutrition. 

“The CDRR Community Grant Program is a great opportunity to address chronic disease in our communities,” said Secretary Janet Stanek. “We look forward to seeing the great work our grantees can accomplish across Kansas.” 

The SFY 2024 CDRR Grantees and the counties they cover include:

  • Barton County Health Department (Barton, Pawnee, Rice and Stafford counties) 
  • Crawford County Health Department (Crawford County) 
  • Crosswinds Counseling and Wellness (Lyon County) 
  • Dickinson County Health Department (Dickinson County)
  • Edwards County Economic Development (Edwards and Hodgeman counties) 
  • Finney County Community Health Coalition (Finney, Scott, Stanton counties) 
  • Harvey County Health Department (Harvey County) 
  • Johnson County Department of Health and Environment (Johnson County)
  • Medical Society of Sedgwick County (Sedgwick County) 
  • Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department (Douglas County) 
  • Marion County Health Department (Marion County) 
  • Miami County Health Department (Miami County) 
  • Mitchell County Regional Medical Foundation (Mitchell, Ellsworth, Jewell, Lincoln, Ottawa, Republic and Smith counties)
  • Reno County Health Department (Reno County) 
  • Shawnee County Health Agency (Shawnee County) 
  • Sheridan County Health Department (Sheridan County) 
  • Unified Government of Wyandotte (Wyandotte County)

Learn more about the CDRR program at 


Note to the editor: A copy of the map of grantees is available here.


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Press Releases

Safe Kids Kansas

Bucks Rewarded to Drivers Who Buckle Up

Posted on: August 25, 2023
For Immediate Release Graphic

Drug Endangered Children’s Day

Posted on: April 26, 2023
Safe Kids Kansas

Safe Kids Day at the Zoo

Posted on: April 25, 2023

2023 Kansas Health Champions Announced

Posted on: January 26, 2023
Safe Kids Kansas

Bucks Rewarded to Drivers Who Buckle Up

Posted on: August 24, 2022
For Immediate Release Graphic

In Honor of Women's Health Week

Posted on: May 6, 2022
Safe Kids Kansas

Safe Kids Day at the Zoo

Posted on: April 19, 2022
Safe Kids Kansas

Poison Centers are Here for the Ages

Posted on: March 17, 2022
Travel Related Quarantine ENGLISH

KDHE Amends Travel Related Quarantine List

Posted on: February 17, 2022
For Immediate Release

January is Kansas Radon Action Month

Posted on: January 5, 2022