News Flash

Press Releases

Posted on: December 6, 2022

Safe Kids Kansas Recognizes Advocates for Life-Saving Work

Safe Kids Kansas

Safe Kids Kansas will present its Annual Awards today, December 6, at 1:30 p.m. The awards recognize outstanding contributions by individuals, coalitions, organizations and businesses toward reducing unintentional injury to Kansas children. The awards will be presented virtually via Zoom. Photos of honorees with their awards are available upon request to Cherie Sage. Contact information for each honoree is listed below.

Awards include the prestigious Dr. Dennis Cooley Award of Excellence, named in honor of pediatrician Dr. Dennis Cooley of Topeka. This year’s Cooley Award will be presented to Cherie Sage, State Director of Safe Kids Kansas.

As of this year, Sage has spent the past 20 years dedicated to serving the mission of Safe Kids Kansas as a staff member. She has served as State Director since 2009 and was previously the Outreach Coordinator for the coalition. Prior to coming to Safe Kids Kansas as a staff member, she was a  community volunteer giving time as a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician and Instructor. In addition to child passenger safety, Sage has worked with prevention partners in other injury risk areas, such as drowning, fire and burn, pedestrian and bicycle safety, safe sleep and poisoning. She also serves on several community boards, committees and advisory committees.

“Cherie inspires others to get involved and connect with the work as she readily shares her heart, passion 

and drive to protect our Kansas kids,” Daina Zolck, the Director of Injury and Violence Prevention at the Kansas Department of Health and Environment, said. “She works with intense commitment and continually thinks of ways to make the coalition stronger. Her vision will assure Safe Kids Kansas will continue to work to keep all kids safe from preventable injuries.”

Safe Kids Kansas also will present awards for Outstanding Partnership for Child Safety, Outstanding Coalition Organization, Local Coalition of the Year, and Service Recognition.

The Outstanding Partnership for Child Safety award was presented to two organizations. The Wichita Fire Department and the Kansas Traffic Safety Resource Office S.A.F.E. Team.

The Outstanding Coalition Organization award was presented to two organizations. The Garage (Salina Educational Automotive Museum of America) and the Shawnee County Health Department.

The Local Coalition of the Year award was presented to Safe Kids Scott County. 

A Service Recognition Award was presented to Lt. Clarence Moore with the Wichita Fire Department and Officer Jared Rowley, School Resource Officer with Topeka Public Schools. 


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Press Releases

Safe Kids Kansas

Bucks Rewarded to Drivers Who Buckle Up

Posted on: August 25, 2023
For Immediate Release Graphic

Drug Endangered Children’s Day

Posted on: April 26, 2023
Safe Kids Kansas

Safe Kids Day at the Zoo

Posted on: April 25, 2023

2023 Kansas Health Champions Announced

Posted on: January 26, 2023
Safe Kids Kansas

Bucks Rewarded to Drivers Who Buckle Up

Posted on: August 24, 2022
For Immediate Release Graphic

In Honor of Women's Health Week

Posted on: May 6, 2022
Safe Kids Kansas

Safe Kids Day at the Zoo

Posted on: April 19, 2022
Safe Kids Kansas

Poison Centers are Here for the Ages

Posted on: March 17, 2022
Travel Related Quarantine ENGLISH

KDHE Amends Travel Related Quarantine List

Posted on: February 17, 2022
For Immediate Release

January is Kansas Radon Action Month

Posted on: January 5, 2022