The Newborn Hearing Screening Program's goal is to identify congenital hearing loss in children before three months of age with appropriate intervention no later than six months of age.
Hearing screening test for all babies no later than 1 month of age. Afterwards, there is a diagnostic evaluation no later than 3 months of age if baby failed the hearing screening. Early intervention should occur no later than 6 months of age if the baby is diagnosed with a hearing loss.
Regulation Revision Suggestions Survey
The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE)'s Bureau of Family Heath (BFH) is home to several regulatory programs. State regulatory programs are designed to protect and preserve the public’s health, safety, and well-being. Agencies are given authority through law to establish regulations that describe how laws are to be implemented. Maintaining an effective regulatory program greatly reduces the risk of harm to the people of Kansas and our resources.
Receiving feedback on program regulations is critical to the regulatory review process and community participation. The survey allows members of regulated communities and the public to offer feedback on KDHE BFH regulations.
Thank you for sharing your voice as we move forward together to protect the health, safety, and welfare of Kansas families. Share your feedback today.
Find out more about the role of the audiologist in the Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) Program.
Hospitals and birth centers perform hearing screenings on newborns before discharge.
Please contact us if you have a question about the Newborn Hearing Screening Program at the Kansas Department of Health and Environment.
Learn more information about SoundBeginnings for families in English and Spanish.
Providing ongoing monitoring and surveillance of all children, especially those with risk factors for late-onset and early childhood hearing loss.
Review the available resources for SoundBeginnings.