Solid Waste Program

The Solid Waste Section of the Bureau of Waste Management administers permits to ensure all solid waste facilities are operated in a manner that protects human health and the environment. Permitted facility types include:

  • Composting
  • Construction/demolition
  • Household hazardous waste
  • Incinerator
  • Industrial
  • Landfarm
  • Medical waste
  • Mobile tire processor
  • MSW-exempt
  • MSW-subtitle D
  • Solid waste processor
  • Tire collection center
  • Tire monofill
  • Tire processing facility
  • Tire transporter
  • Transfer station


The Solid Waste Permits Section is comprised of three units:

  • Solid Waste Hydrogeologic Unit
  • Solid Waste Landfills Unit
  • Solid Waste Processing and Planning Unit