Northwest District Office

The Northwest District Office (NWDO) consists of 10 environmental and administrative staff that conducts facility inspections, provide technical support to the public on the many environmental programs within KDHE, respond to emergency releases, and conduct fishkill investigations. 21 counties encompassing 19,606 square miles are served by the NWDO.

According to the 2000 Census, these 21 counties have a population of 101,122. There are 5 major river basins within the NWD boundaries that have 5,560 miles of streams and 109 square miles of lakes and wetlands.  

Northwest Kansas is primarily rural with an average rainfall of 20 inches per year. The High Plains Aquifer underlies the western 2/3 of the district and is a vital source of water for human and animal consumption and irrigation.

Bureau-Specific Information

Select the bureau name to access bureau-specific services and support.

  1. Air
  2. Livestock Waste
  3. Remediation
  4. Waste Management
  5. Water & Wastewater

Air Compliance

District staff in this unit perform compliance inspections of sources of air pollution. This unit is also responsible for the issuance of open burning exemptions and investigating complaints associated with ambient air contaminants.