KDHE requires proper storage and disposal of dry cleaning solvent and dry cleaning wastes. K.A.R. 28-68-3 (PDF) references the hazardous waste regulations and explains the additional requirements for dry cleaning facilities. The perchloroethylene and petroleum users guides and self-inspection checklists listed below summarize the regulations that affect Kansas dry cleaners, but please read the full regulations carefully. KDHE inspectors visit facilities to ensure compliance with the performance standards. Failure to comply with these standards may result in the issuance of administrative penalties as defined below.
Any person violating the provisions of the Kansas Dry Cleaner Environmental Response Act may be subject to an administrative penalty in an amount not to exceed $500 for every violation.
Each owner or operator of a dry cleaning facility that ceases operation for 45 continuous days shall remove all dry cleaning solvents and dry cleaning wastes from the facility not later than 45 days after the last day of operation. Written extensions may be considered by KDHE for extenuating circumstances.