Electronic Health Records (EHR)

EHR Incentive Program

Eligible Professionals need to have an active KMAP number in order to access and attest to the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program
For questions or problems, please contact:

  • KMAP account: customer service at 800-933-6593 option 8
  • EHR Provider Support at 800-933-6593 option 7

Email EHR Provider Support

More information regarding Medicare payment adjustments and the hardship exception application including dates can be found online.

HIT/HIE Initiative Webinar Series

CMS published a final rule that specifies the Modified Stage 2 criteria that EPs, EHs, and CAHs must meet in order to continue to participate in the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs.

Additional information can be found in the CMS Background - Resources section:

Webinar Information

This webinar will be conducted to review CMS changes to the EHR Incentive Payment Program regarding Meaningful Use.

Department of Health & Environment Meaningful Use

The KDHE Meaningful Use page includes information and links for all public health registries to meet the public health reporting measure.

Public Health Measures

General Information

To facilitate the deployment of health information technology and exchange, Congress has authorized incentive payments for Medicare and Medicaid providers for the "meaningful use" of certified Electronic Health Record (EHR) technology. KDHE's Division of Health Care Finance, as the single state Medicaid agency in Kansas, is responsible for implementing this incentive program in Kansas. KDHE began accepting Medicaid EHR incentive applications in January 2012.

Eligible Hospitals

Hospitals that are eligible for EHR incentive payments under both Medicare and Medicaid when registering with CMS, should select "Both Medicare and Medicaid" during the registration process, even if they plan to apply only for a Medicaid EHR incentive payment by adopting, implementing, or upgrading certified EHR technology. Dually-eligible hospitals can then attest through CMS for their Medi-care EHR incentive payment at a later date if they so desire.

It is important as a dually-eligible hospital to select "Both Medicare and Medicaid" from the start of registration in order to maintain this option. Hospitals that register only for the Medicaid program (or only the Medicare program) will not be able to manually change their registration i.e., change to "Both Medicare and Medicaid" or from one program to the other) after payment is initiated and this may cause significant delays in receiving a Medicare EHR incentive payment.

After reviewing the information above, and completing the CMS Application, Eligible Hospitals may access the Kansas Application at the MAPIR website.

For EHR application support call 800-933-6593.

Eligible Professionals

Eligible providers are acute care hospitals, children's hospitals, physicians, dentists, certified nurse midwives, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants practicing in a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) or Rural Health Clinic (RHC) that is so led by a physician assistant.

For EHR application support call 800-933-6593.

CMS Background Resources

KDHE Background Resources

On October 27, 2010, KDHE received federal approval of its plan to administer incentive funding for Kansas Medicaid providers to assist them in acquiring and implementing HIT and HIE. Additional information is available in State Medicaid HIT Plan (SMHP).

Meaningful Use Background

CMS has adopted a three-stage approach for providers to achieve meaningful use of electronic health records.

Modified Stage 2 vs Stage 3 Comparison Table Professionals, Hospitals, and CAHs:

Modified Stage 2 and Stage 3 details:

Medicaid EHR Incentives Registration

Effective January 3, 2011, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) began accepting registration from Eligible Providers and Eligible Hospitals interested in participating in the EHR Incentive Program. Eligible Providers must first register with CMS into the National Level Repository (NLR) and then register with the State of Kansas.

View Registration User Guide and Additional Information.