Disease Reporting for Health Professionals

Mandated reporters are required to notify public health regarding patients with a suspected or confirmed reportable disease/condition, as defined by Kansas statute and regulation: K.S.A. 65-118; 65-128; and 65-6001 through 65-6007; as well as K.A.R. 28-1-2 and 28-1-18.  All reports are confidential and shall not be disclosed or made public, upon subpoena or otherwise, beyond the requirements of K.S.A. 65-118 and K.S.A. 65-119. Questions? Call the 24/7 KDHE Epidemiology Hotline at 877-427-7317 or email the team.

COVID-19 Update

As of May 11, 2023, laboratory testing* and cases of COVID-19 are no longer reportable to KDHE or your local health department; however, clusters or outbreaks remain reportable to allow public health officials to aid in containment, providing testing free of charge, infection prevention guidance, and technical assistance. Report clusters or outbreaks by calling the Epidemiology Hotline at 877-427-7317, option 5. 

*Testing partners, including Community Testing Partners and reference laboratories contracted by the State of Kansas, should continue to send COVID-19 results. Contact your KDHE program manager with any questions on reporting.

  1. Reportable Diseases
  2. Case Reporting
  3. Lab Submission
  4. Reporting Forms

Diseases Reportable Within Four Hours

As outlined in K.A.R. 28-1-2, mandated reporters are required to report some notifiable diseases or conditions to KDHE by telephone within four hours of the suspected case. This includes reporting prior to receipt of lab results or confirmation of diagnosis. Report the following within four hours to the KDHE Epidemiology Hotline at 877-427-7317, option 5:

  • Clusters, outbreaks, or epidemics of any disease
  • Any exotic or newly recognized disease
  • Possible terrorist acts due to biological, chemical, or radiological agents
  • Unexplained death suspected to be due to an unidentified agent
  • Any unusual disease or manifestation of disease such as mpox or multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children associated with COVID-19 (MIS-C)
  • The diseases or conditions specified as within four hours on the Kansas Notifiable Diseases List (PDF).

Diseases Reportable Within 24 Hours

Some diseases or conditions are required to be reported to KDHE or to your local  health department within 24 hours or the next business day as required by K.A.R. 28-1-2. See the list of 24-hour reportable diseases as specified on the Kansas Notifiable Diseases List (PDF)