Trauma Regions

A trauma region is a designated set of counties that coordinate community injury prevention activities, emergency medical services, hospitals, trauma centers, and rehabilitation services to improve patient care. Six Kansas Trauma Regions work together to form the Kansas Trauma System.

Response to Trauma

  1. Traumatic Injury
  2. Emergency Medical Services
  3. Trauma Center
  4. Rehabilitation and Survival

List of Regions

  • North Central Regional Trauma Council
  • Northeast Regional Trauma Council
  • Northwest Regional Trauma Council
  • South Central Kansas Trauma Region
  • Southeast Regional Trauma Council
  • Southwest Regional Trauma Council


  • Priority - Focus on research and public education
  • Pre-PIPS - Calling analytical people to assess cases for further review, special educational value, or scientific interest
  • Regional PIPS - Performance Improvement and system evaluation
  • Education - Strengthen the workforce - review applications, plan events, assess the workforce
  • Peer Membership - Rural development, trauma programs, EMS practices, injury prevention - we've got years of experience to support you

Pre-Screening PIPS Team


  • Trauma Medical Director
  • Trauma Program Manager
  • EMS Medical Director
  • Acute Facility Physician

Cases Eligible for PIPS Review

  • Unanticipated Mortality
  • Anticipated Mortality
  • Multiple Jumps
  • Cases w/Educational Value
  • County system issues
  • Assist with mortality category determination
  • Outcomes impacted by trauma system
  • Other



  • Trauma Medical Director
  • Trauma Program Manager
  • Level IV Physician/ Acute Facility Physician
  • EMS Representative
  • Other Member - Additional PIPS Team members may include
    • Anesthesiologist
    • County medical examiner
    • Emergency physician
    • EMS service director
    • Medical director from an air medical service
    • Medical director of EMS services
    • Neurosurgeon
    • Orthopedic surgeon
    • Other health professional deemed necessary