Marriage Certificate

Marriage certificates began being filed with the Office May 1, 1913. To learn how to locate marriage records prior to July 1, 1951, visit the Kansas Historical Society website.

Marriage information is open to the public at the county district court level. To access a listing of all Kansas county district courts, visit the Kansas Judicial Branch website.

Completed marriage licenses are first filed with the County Clerk of the District Court in the county where the marriage license was issued. The District Courts then forward the completed licenses to the Office of Vital Statistics.

  1. Ordering Marriage Certificates
  2. Record Correction

Ordering Marriage Certificates

For additional instructions, click on a linked Ordering Method.

Note: The cost of each certified copy increased to $20 effective July 1, 2022, as shown in the table. Prior $15 certified copy pricing expired at midnight on June 30, 2022.
 

Ordering MethodDescriptionCostProcessing Time
Walk-inNotice: The lobby for the Office of Vital Statistics will open for walk-in service beginning February 7, 2022. $20 for each certified copy.Around 15 to 20 minutes provided there is no difficulty in locating the record.
InternetAccess the VitalChek website at any time.

Payment made by credit card.
$20 for each certified copy plus $13.95 expedited service fee.Within 3 to 5 business days after receipt in our office.
TelephoneCall 877-305-8315, available 24 hours, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.

Payment made by credit card. Spanish interpreters available.
$20 for each certified copy plus $13.95 expedited service fee.Within 3 to 5 business days after receipt in our office.
Mobile AppDownload the app through your device app store; search for "IKAN" (select IKan - State of Kansas).

Payment made by credit card or ACH.
1 certified copy per order; $20 for the certified copy plus $5 processing fee.Dependent on delivery method selected:
  • Will Call - will receive message usually same day or next business day for pick up
  • Regular Mail - 7 to 10 business days
Will Call
(Must Pick up in Office)
Access the VitalChek website
Alternately, you may download the app through your device app store. Search for "IKAN" (select IKan - State of Kansas).

Only the applicant can pick up the certificate and will need a current, government issued photo ID. Unvaccinated individuals will need to continue to wear a mask and social distance.
$20 for each certified copy plus $5 processing fee.An email will be sent when certificate is ready for pick up. Usually ready the following business day. Do not come to the office until email is received stating certificate is ready to pick up, because your certificate will not be available when you arrive.
Regular/Priority MailSend request by regular mail or priority mail service.

Payment made by check or money order.
$20 for each certified copy.Dependent upon current request volume - 7 to 10 business days.

Notice Regarding Fees

State law also specifies that the initial $20 fee for a certified marriage certificate copy is a five-year record search fee - one certified copy is issued if the record is found and if not found, the fee is retained. You will receive either the certified copy or a letter explaining the search conducted and that no record was located.